HelpTimeline Getting StartedOpening timelines

Opening timelines

There are two ways to open timelines for editing or updating

  • via File > Open or Open Recent if your timelines are saved in a folder on disk, or
  • from MasterFile, if you save your timelines with your case material so everything is in one place.

Opening timelines from a folder

To open a timeline from a folder, choose File > Open and navigate to it or if it was recently opened, choose Open Recent. Timelines all have the extension .aeonzip.

Opening timelines from MasterFile

To edit a timeline that is saved in MasterFile, browse to the  timeline's profile and edit it.

You can then either

  • Right click the attachment's icon itself and choose Edit from the dialog box that opens. The attachment opens directly in Timeline and its profile is switched to Edit mode.

Do not simply double click the attachment. The timeline will open, but since its MasterFile profile is not in edit mode, changes will not be saved back and you will need to Save As to disk, delete the existing attachment from the profile and drag and drop the new one in its place.

  • Or, you can

    1. Edit the profile
    2. Double click on the attachment's icon (or right click and choose Edit).
    3. From the Open Attachment dialog  that's show next, choose Edit.

Even though the profile is in edit mode, do not simply double click the attachment. The timeline will open in view mode as far as MasterFile is concerned and changes will not be saved back. You will then need to use Save As to save the timeline to disk, delete the existing attachment from its profile, and drag and drop the new one in its place.

Saving timelines to a folder

To save a timeline to a folder on disk, choose File > Save or Save As, navigate to the folder you want, and click OK. Timelines all have the extension .aeonzip.

Saving timelines back to MasterFile

Assuming you edited a timeline from its MasterFile profile as explained above, once you finish editing, adding or updating events to your timeline, choose Save to save your timeline as you normally would.

Note that

  • If you choose Save As you will not be saving back to MasterFile but saving the new version out to a folder on disk, and
  • If you choose Close, you will be prompted to save before exiting.

Switch back to MasterFile and when you save or close the profile, you will see the dialog box below, a detection alert to remind you save your the opened attachment in Timeline after editing.

Click OK if you've saved your timeline; otherwise, cancel, switch back to Timeline, save the timeline and return to MasterFile to save the profile.

We do not recommend you select the check box. The reminder is worthwhile and will save you from mistakes.